Published: 08/05/2013

Evangelical Community Hospital Celebrates Nursing & Health Career Scholarship Awardees

On Friday, August 2, 2013, nursing and health career students gathered at Evangelical Community Hospital to celebrate receiving one of three scholarships available from the Hospital.
Angela Hummel, Director of Organizational Development welcomed scholarship recipients and luncheon guest speakers Wendy K. Smith, RN, MSN, CCRN and Michael W. Miller RT (R), Director of Imaging Services who advised the students on keys to success in nursing and health careers. Smith, during her college years, was a four-year recipient of the Mae Keefer Scholarship provided by Evangelical Community Hospital.

The Mae Keefer Nursing Scholarship Endowment Fund was established in 1988 by the Hospital’s Board of Directors. It was named to recognize the longstanding dedication and contribution to the profession of nursing by Mae F. Keefer, RN, retired Director of Nursing at Evangelical. The Fund provides support for nursing students from Northumberland, Snyder and Union counties.

The Crystal D. Snyder Nursing Scholarship fund was established by family, friends and The Degenstein Foundation in 2008 to honor the memory of Crystal D. Snyder. The Fund provides annual scholarship support for local nursing students living in Northumberland, Snyder and Union counties.

The John Family Health Careers Scholarship at Evangelical Community Hospital provides annual scholarship awards to students pursuing careers in medical imaging, respiratory therapy, medical technology, clinical laboratory science or cytotechnology.

Donna Schuck, Director of Development for Evangelical Community Hospital closed the luncheon with congratulations to each and every recipient and a thank you to all the individuals who have, over the years, provided funds to make the scholarships available.

For more information about scholarships at Evangelical for nursing and health careers or to make a donation for future scholarship awards, visit


PHOTO from left to right:
Front row – Grant Kleppinger, Rebecca Long, Jenna Wheary, Mariah Kilgus, Nicole Horst, Brittany Bartol, Allison Lloyd.
Middle row – Wendy Smith, RN, MSN, CCRN, guest speaker, Mikayla Beiler, Madison Betsker, Adrienne Trotto, Lizabeth Conrad, Emily Werner, Carlie Stockdale, Brianna Latovich, Leanne Kainzbauer, Michael Miller, RT (R), Director of Imaging Services, guest speaker. 
Back row – Tiffany Wolfe, Rebecca Rummel, Jenna Kapsar, Bethany Deppen, Shelby Derr, Kate Lynn Augustine, Samantha Weikel, Taylor Raker.